skip to main content
YouTube icon image 
YouTube icon image
Home  |  Intranet  |  Contact  


2019-2020 Governor’s Criminal Justice Volunteer Service Awards

Sachse Church Receives Governor’s Criminal Justice Volunteer Award

(AUSTIN) – Northplace Church in Sachse, Texas was presented the Community Service Award during the Governor’s 2020-2021 Criminal Justice Volunteer Service Awards program today.

The award was presented by Texas Board of Criminal Justice Chairman Patrick O’Daniel and TDCJ Executive Director Bryan Collier during an online ceremony. Accepting the award was Pastor Gerad Strong.

“These volunteers give their time and talents to help others throughout Texas,” said O’Daniel. “They selflessly serve because they feel a responsibility to help others.”

“These volunteers dedicate themselves daily to helping others succeed,” said Collier. “In the coming years, the scope of the precious time and effort that they invested will be evident across the State of Texas.”

During the COVID-19 pandemic, Northplace Church has risen to a level above the call of volunteerism. In partnership with TDCJ and the Hughes Unit, the church has shown extraordinary love, care and commitment to the staff by providing a catered Officer Appreciation Christmas dinner to all shifts. The ministry also procured and delivered hygiene products to approximately 3,000 inmates at the Hughes Unit. Northplace Church also donated more than 130 gallons of liquid bleach to aid the Hughes Unit and the TDCJ in their efforts to combat the spread of the coronavirus.

Northplace Church is one of 6 organizations and 16 individuals from across the state recognized for their efforts to help inmates and those who are on parole or probation. They donate many hours of their personal time every year with the goal of changing the lives of convicted offenders and aiding and comforting their victims.

In FY2020, there were 19,589 volunteers who provided a total of 220,502 hours of service.

Note to media: For more information, contact Jeremy Desel, TDCJ Director of Communications, at (936) 437-6052 or by e-mail at