skip to main content
Visitation
YouTube icon image 
YouTube icon image
Home  |  Intranet  |  Contact  

FY 2024 Holiday Schedule

Weekend Holidays: Offices will not be closed on another day when designated holidays fall on a Saturday or Sunday. Such holidays will not be observed.

Skeleton Crew Holidays: A state agency must have enough state employees on duty to conduct business during the skeleton crew holidays listed. Compensatory time off during the 12-month period following the holiday worked will be allowed for this duty.

View print-friendly version of FY 2024 holidays.

FY 2024 Holiday Schedule
Holiday Agency Status Date Week Day
Labor Day All agencies closed 09/04/23 Monday
Rosh Hashanah Optional Holiday 09/16/23 Saturday
Rosh Hashanah Optional Holiday 09/17/23 Sunday
Yom Kippur Optional Holiday 09/25/23 Monday
Veteran's Day   11/11/23 Saturday
Thanksgiving Day All agencies closed 11/23/23 Thursday
Day after Thanksgiving All agencies closed 11/24/23 Friday
Christmas Eve Day   12/24/23 Sunday
Christmas Day All agencies closed 12/25/23 Monday
Day after Christmas All agencies closed 12/26/23 Tuesday
New Year's Day All agencies closed 01/01/24 Monday
Martin Luther King, Jr. Day All agencies closed 01/15/24 Monday
Confederate Heroes' Day Skeleton crew required 01/19/24 Friday
Presidents' Day All agencies closed 02/19/24 Monday
Texas Independence Day   03/02/24 Saturday
Good Friday Optional Holiday 03/29/24 Friday
Cesar Chavez Day Optional Holiday 03/31/24 Sunday
San Jacinto Day   04/21/24 Sunday
Memorial Day All agencies closed 05/27/24 Monday
Emancipation Day Skeleton crew required 06/19/24 Wednesday
Independence Day All agencies closed 07/04/24 Thursday
LBJ's Birthday Skeleton crew required 08/27/24 Tuesday

Source: State Classification Office, State Auditor's Office

For additional information, please see PD-49, Leaves Other than Medical and Parental.

Optional Holidays:

A state employee is entitled to observe Rosh Hashanah, Yom Kippur, Good Friday, and Cesar Chavez Day in lieu of any state holiday where a skeleton crew is required. Complete the FY 2024 In Lieu of Holiday Request.

Institution of Higher Education Holidays:

Institutions of higher education may establish their own holidays in keeping with academic schedules, provided the number of holidays granted does not exceed the number of holidays to which employees of state agencies are entitled.


Page updated: 01/11/2024