
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

         
     

 

 
 
 
 

     
               

 

                         
             
               
         
                     
       
 

                 
 

             

                              
       

                        
               

                          
   

                                
                 

 

     

                      
                       
                   
                       

           
 

       

              

                  

                  

                    
 

     
                     

           

Texas Department of Criminal Justice
 
Victim Services Division
 

Victim Impact Statement:
 
The Victim’s Voice in the Criminal Justice Process
 

Training Date & Time: August 15, 2014; 1:00 P.M. – 4:00 P.M. 
Location:	 Texas Association of Counties 

1210 San Antonio St., 4th Floor 
Austin, TX 78701 

Hosted By:	 Travis County District Attorney’s Office– Victim 
Witness Division 

Seating is Limited – Register by August 1, 2014 

What You Will Gain From This Training: 
 Increased knowledge of the important role the Victim Impact Statement plays at key stages of 

the criminal justice process; 
 Increased knowledge and awareness of the statutory responsibilities of the various criminal 

justice entities with regards to Victim Impact Statements; 
 Familiarity with the revisions to the Victim Impact Statement forms and statistical reporting 

requirements; and 
 Ideas for developing VIS standards in your community that will help to ensure victims’ voices are 

heard at all stages of the criminal justice process. 

Who Should Attend? 
 Victim assistance and criminal justice professionals with statutory responsibilities for the 

handling of victim impact statements including: victim assistance coordinators in district and 
county attorneys’ offices, prosecutors, court coordinators, district clerks, judges, probation 
officers, law enforcement personnel, and sheriffs’ department staff who are responsible for 
transporting/sending pen packets to TDCJ. 

Training Credit for Attending: 
 3 hours of training credit (general credit) 
 3 Participatory hours of MCLE credit (Judges and Prosecutors) 
 3 hours of TCOLE (formerly TCLEOSE) credit (Law Enforcement) 
 3 hour of Social Work and Licensed Professional Counselor Credit 

How to Register: 
Complete the attached registration form and submit by email to lynn.hyde@tdcj.state.tx.us 
or by fax to 512‐452‐1025. 



 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

         
     

 
 
 
 

     
               

 

                         
             
               
         
                                                   
                       
           

           
           

 

                                                 
     
      

 

 
 
   

         

         

         

           

         

         

             

 
                               

         

   

 

Texas Department of Criminal Justice
 
Victim Services Division
 

Victim Impact Statement: 
The Victim’s Voice in the Criminal Justice Process 

Training Date & Time: August 15, 2014; 1:00 P.M. – 4:00 P.M. 
Location:	 Texas Association of Counties 

1210 San Antonio St., 4th Floor 
Austin, TX 78701 

Hosted By:	 Travis County District Attorney’s Office – Victim Witness 
Division 

Submit your completed registration form by Name: Lynn Hyde, Program Specialist II 
August 1, 2014 to ‐ Email: lynn.hyde@tdcj.state.tx.us 

Fax: 512‐452‐1025 

REGISTRATION FORM 
Name: 

Title: 

Organization: 

Mailing Address: 

City:	 Zip: 

County:	 Email: 

Work Phone #: 

Please indicate the type of Continuing Education Credit you would like to receive upon completion of 
this Victim Impact Statement training: 

                              

                      

General credit Social Work Credit TCOLE credit (Law Enforcement) 

MCLE Credit (Prosecution) Licensed Professional Counseling Credit 




