
Texas Department of Criminal Justice

Minimum Qualifications Screening Instructions

As the individual assigned to screen the applicants’ State of Texas Application for Employment, you shall follow the instructions listed below:  

A.
ELIGIBILITY DETERMINATION:  Conduct an initial review of the State of Texas Application for Employment to determine if the applicant is ineligible for any of the following reasons: (a) violation of PD-26, “Nepotism,” (b) has a felony conviction within the last 15 years, (c) is a former employee whose termination status code is DS067 or (d) is a retiree whose reemployment would violate the provisions within PD-84, “Reemployment and Selection of Retirees.”  

1.
INELIGIBLE APPLICANTS:

If an applicant is ineligible, write “IE” and initial in the bottom right-hand corner of page one (1) of the State of Texas Application for Employment and complete PERS 300, Applicant Screening Form documenting reasons for ineligibility. 

2.
ELIGIBLE APPLICANTS:

Proceed with the minimum qualifications screening. 

B.
MINIMUM QUALIFICATIONS SCREENING: All inside and outside applicants shall meet the required minimum qualifications specified in the Position Description on or before the closing date of the position posting.

1.
SCREENING FOR REQUIRED TYPING:

Applicants shall have attached a TDCJ or Texas Workforce Commission typing test to the State of Texas Application for Employment.

2.
SCREENING FOR REQUIRED EDUCATION, LICENSES AND CERTIFICATIONS:

a)
Applicants shall document all education, licenses and certifications required on the Position Description.

b)
Do not screen applicants out for failure to attach proof of education, license or certification.  All education or licenses and certifications claimed by the applicant shall be verified prior to selection.  

3.
SCREENING FOR REQUIRED EXPERIENCE:

a)
Review definitions of required experience terms in the TDCJ Glossary of Experience Terms.

b)
Consider full-time or part-time (minimum of 20 hours per week), wage earning work experience only.  Part-time experience shall be converted to full-time equivalent for the purpose of minimum qualifications screening (e.g., two [2] years part time = one [1] year full-time).  

c)
Volunteer or unpaid experience may not be counted.

d)
If a certain amount of experience is required, applicants shall have documented time frames.
e)
Be aware of work experiences which overlap as well as work experience obtained while attending high school or college full-time.

f)
Only work experience performed at age 16 or older shall be considered.
g)
The applicant shall have clearly documented the type of experience required by the Position Description, and spent a significant amount of time performing the specified function.  Screeners should consider all information contained in the State of Texas Application for Employment and any attachments.  Do not screen out an applicant who wrote “see resume” in the employment history if the resume is attached and reflects the applicant meets the minimum experience requirement.  

4.
QUALIFIED APPLICANTS: 

If an applicant is qualified, write “Q” and your initials in the bottom right-hand corner of page 1 of the State of Texas Application for Employment. 

5.
DISQUALIFIED APPLICANTS: 

If an applicant is disqualified for any reason, write “NQ” and your initials in the bottom right-hand corner of page 1 of the State of Texas Application for Employment and complete a PERS 300, Applicant Screening Form documenting reasons for disqualification.  

I certify I have read the above instructions.  I shall screen the enclosed State of Texas Application for Employment forms according to these instructions and PD-71, “Selection System Procedures.”


Signature
Date of Screening

     
     
Printed Name
Title
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